July 8, 2003

Downtime

Posted in General at 12:01 am by Ian

So, this is the way it went down. A “Cracker” (I prefer the term “Honky,” but to each his own) broke in to Odin (also known as Allfadir, who has only one eye, which blazes like the sun. His other eye he traded for a drink), which hosts your favorite weblog (this one), and they took Apache (which has 16 guided missles, 8 under each wing!) down until they could update something or other.

Thus, I have embarked on a plan to build my own webserver, so the next time this happens, I will be the only one to blame. That’s what they call “thinking ahead.” So far, I spent about seven hours this weekend trying to get Apache and PHP installed. I did get it working, but I, uh, got it working on my laptop, which serves as a poor webserver, given the whole “being off most of the time” and the “slow as hell with little memory” traits that define it as a being. Next step is to get it installed on some other computer. I’ve also just gotten myself a domain name. Further details when it actually works.

2 Comments »

  1. Daniel said,

    Apache rules! just make sure it’s not a microsoft server as 99% of the viruses will attack the crap out of your server. just my two cents worth.

  2. Zakarov said,

    Amen to that (speaking as someone cracked legoserve a little while ago, eventually resulting in its current absence)

    😦


Leave a Reply

