August 4, 2003

Portland

Posted in General at 4:47 pm by Ian

Oh. My. God.

We’ve driven quite a bit, there. I just checked mapquest, and the directions for driving here includes “927 miles” on I-5.

Drove through central Oregon today. It turns out that central Oregon is about the same as central California: ugly and boring. It’s worse, though, because it only moves by at 65 miles per hour, a phenomenally slow rate. It seems that somehow the entire population of the state has been brainwashed into regarding speed limit signs as other than playthings for the roadworkers.

And Phil and I are going to a type I tourney tonight. w00t!

3 Comments »

  1. AB said,

    You think that central Oregon is ugly and boring. Ha! I dare you to drive through central Illinois, my friend; it’s corn and beans as far as the eye can see, and nary a hill in sight. That while 65 mph thing does suck, though. Good luck at the tournament.

  2. Lisa said,

    Yeah, I agree with AB. Central Illinois is awful. But not nearly as bad as Texas. I HATE TEXAS. In high school, my church youth group drove down to the middle of Mexico for a missions trip and it took as long for us, from Michigan, to get to Texas as it took for us to get from the Lone Star State to the border. It was flat. Hot. Humid. Ugly. Dusty. And it smelled bad. In fact, I hate Texas more than I hate salt water. And that’s saying a lot.

    Glad none of you died!

  3. Nikhil said,

    Well, in case anyone check’s this again, let me say that I think all of the above landscapes are dull and boring and that I pity you all.


Leave a Reply

