October 12, 2003

Ian: 1, ImageMagick: 0

Posted in General at 4:34 pm by Ian

I spent the better part of the afternoon attempting to get ImageMagick to work with MovableType.

I had ImageMagick-5.5.7-10 installed from the original Red Hat 9 install, but that didn’t seem to work. It was suggested that I install ImageMagick-perl, but I couldn’t find a version that matched. So I tried downgrading ImageMagick to 5.5.6-5, and then installing ImageMagick-perl, but that didn’t work either. All of the above was attempted with the .rpms

I then went and downloaded the source for ImageMagick-5.5.6 and installed with:

./configure -enable-shared
make
make install

Ran mt-check.cgi, and BAM, it worked.

Which lets me point out the awesomeness that is below. I could have done all that way faster if only I’d had 10 screens to work on. Click on the thumbnail to blah blah blah.

5 Comments »

  1. Adam said,

    a) I’ve had problems with ImageMagick and MT as well and basically decided to do all my image manipulation by hand. But props to you for getting it to work.

    b) That is sweet! I wonder if there’s room on my desk…

  2. Philip said,

    As soon as you buy that new display, will you sell me your old, small, 21 inch monitor for cheap?

  3. Ian said,

    Didja try installing from source? What kind of server is yours on?

  4. Adam said,

    It’s on a server I don’t have admin access too, and since I really prefer doing stuff by hand anyway, I’ll just leave it at that. I just like to complain when I computers don’t work exactly as I tell them to (or I guess as I want them to, they always do what I tell them, they should just be smart enough to know what I really want…) 🙂

  5. Dad said,

    Ah, the “do what I want” parser. We’ve been waiting so long. I’m sure it will be there Real Soon Now.


Leave a Reply

