October 29, 2003

Call To Action

Posted in General at 8:53 am by Ian

Coming back from breakfast today, I passed the wall (Walker Wall?) on Pomona where everybody paints a mural to their favorite cause and noticed that this month is Breast Awareness Month. It’s not clear whether it’s a National Awareness Month, or just something the Pomonites dreamed up. Nevertheless, I was shocked to look deep within myself and realize that, even on the most important twelfth-of-a-year for it, I’ve been lax in my awareness of breasts.

No more.

Starting today, in the spirit of fraternity and National Monthliness, I pledge to be ever vigilant in my continued and increased awareness of breasts. No more will I blithely pass by breasts, unaware of their presence. This apathy must stop, and it must stop now.

I urge all of you to join me in my quest to remain aware of breasts for the remainder of this month. Since the month is nearly over, we’ll have to act quickly, but the payoff will be worth it. We can establish a hotline (I volunteer my number) to keep abreast (I know, I know. But I had to.) of breast anti-awareness zones and to coordinate quick action.

Also, be sure to kindly greet any breasts you may see with a smile, a glance toward their owner, and a clearly spoken: “I am aware of your breasts.”

It’s the least we can do.

6 Comments »

  1. Daniel said,

    :: sniff sniff :: that was so moving…

    …moving like a NINJA!! :ninja:

  2. Nikhil said,

    “abreast” – that was awesome.
    Also, do you think this applies to man-breasts, too?

  3. Ian said,

    Amazingly enough, man breasts were actually in an earlier draft, but they didn’t make the cut.

    One must have standards.

  4. Katie said,

    Ian, you’re great! But are you sure you were unaware of breasts before? You are male…. šŸ˜‰

  5. Matt said,

    I think I can speak for all of straight mankind when I say that we have always had some degree of breast awareness. The issue, though, since now there is a month devoted to it, is that we were not aware of _all_ breasts, nor were we sufficiently aware of them. Clearly we need rise to this new standard of awareness.

  6. Liza said,

    :ninja:


Leave a Reply

