December 14, 2003

Operating Systems are Hard. Tee-hee

Posted in General at 6:57 pm by Ian

Mattel is coming out with a Linux-based OS called BarbieOS to run on their popular B-Book laptops (guess what the “B” stands for: Barbie!).

According to the article
[quote]Mattel says it is confident of the potential of BarbieOS 1.0 to find a niche market of young girls under thirteen who are dissatisfied with current Microsoft offerings [in operating systems][/quote]

That is a very niche market indeed.

5 Comments »

  1. Sarra said,

    Right, because the number of girls who a)own their own computer; b)know and care enough about computers to dislike Microsoft; c)are willing to switch to Linux; and d) despite all of the previous being signs of intellegence, still like Barbie, is extraordinarily high.

    I’m still waiting for my Creepy Cult of Scientology Barbie with Deluxe Tinfoil Hat and Fanatical Grin, you know.

  2. becca said,

    If you ever *actually* find one of those barbies, buy two! Because dear god, I want one.

  3. Lisa said,

    Hey! I like Barbies!

    Of course, for years my mother didn’t let me have any of the but the Skippers because she was afraid I’d grow up with a bad Body Image and so I developed an Unhealthy Obsession with Real Barbies which continues to this day.

    :doh:

  4. Ian said,

    That’s still better than an unhealthy body image.

  5. becca said,

    Hmm, it appears that I must clarify my statement. I don’t actually like Barbies. As a matter of fact, I find them pretty disturbing. But a Creepy Cult of Scientology Barbie with Deluxe Tinfoil Hat and Fanatical Grin would just be awesome. Thats the one I want. So if anyone is wondering what to get me for Christmas…


Leave a Reply

