January 23, 2004

And, If You’ll Look To Your Left…

Posted in General at 9:29 pm by Ian

I’m going to be a tour guide at Mudd.

There are lots of reasons I decided to do the job, but if I had to narrow it down to just one, I’d have to say that it was the burritos.

Tommy, who organizes the tourguides–not that we’re that organized. From what I understand, the entire training process amounts to: 1. Get people to write down their schedules and 2. Hand out the tourguide guide, a massive four page tome of all the information we would ever need to know, except that they didn’t have enough, so I didn’t get one–but Tommy, he advertised that you could come and have burritos from Chipotle and listen to them talk about being a tourguide. I thought that that was just a swell idea.

And, then, over the next few days, I started thinking that maybe, just maybe, this could be an opportunity for more than just a free burrito; It turns out that we get free T-shirts too.

So, the next time you see a group of people wandering aimlessly around campus following a guy saying something like: “And over here is the Physics building. Or maybe this is Chemistry. Shit. You know, it’s been like three years since I actually had a class here. Uh… any questions?” stop and say “hi.”

4 Comments »

  1. Sarra said,

    I could be a tour guide at Mudd! I can wander around aimlessly real well!!

  2. Kevin said,

    I would be a tourguide but I have this horrible vision of a group of rescue workers finding the starved remains of me and my group lying somewhere in academics. 3 and a half years and I still can’t find my way through there :doh:

  3. Nikhil said,

    What? Where can you get lost? Sure, there’s that little side hallway under Jacobs, but the rest of Academics is extremely easy to negotiate. Jeez. There are only 4 buildings (5 if you count Sprague)!

    I could totally be a tourguide.

  4. Kevin said,

    Shut up, you can get lost down there. That door that says like, “beware, door” or something like that. I’ve been through there several times and I still can’t remember how to get there. It’s a freaking maze.


Leave a Reply

