February 16, 2004

iBrokenPieceOfCrap

Posted in General at 5:16 pm by Ian

You all know how much I love my iBook.

That’s why it distresses me so to say this: Apple, for all their eye-candified-functional-OS-making skills, cannot seem to build a notebook hinge that will last through the incredible torques placed upon it by opening and closing it. It’s not as though I’m stress testing my thighmaster or lifting large boulders with it. I’m just using it. And this is the second time in the year I’ve had to send it back to them to replace; the last time they “fixed” it, it only stayed fixed for three months.

The only upside to this is that, because my built in warranty was just about to expire, I decided to purchase the extended warranty, which by the Law of Extended Warranties should virtually assure me of two years of absolutely perfect operation. After which it will probably spontaneously explode, taking many innocent lives in the process.

Mark your calendars, folks. March 5, 2006 is the day to stay in your lead-lined bunker.

3 Comments »

  1. Liza said,

    Maybe it’s not actually broken but you hallucinated the whole thing…sort of like the time you thought your iBook got stolen. 😉

  2. Ian said,

    That wasn’t a hallucination. I was drunk!

  3. Sarra said,

    Close enough.


Leave a Reply

