June 9, 2004

Road Trip: Didi and the Movies

Posted in General at 4:19 pm by Ian

I spent the first night at Didi’s (the first of what would become my Portland trifecta, three nights at three different friends’ houses)

After getting there at around nine, after many hours of driving, I was in the mood for little more than vegetation, so we got chinese takeout and sat down to watch two excellent but somewhat unsettling movies.

The first was Thirteen, the tragic story of what goes wrong when a young girl makes new friends and gets a piercing. Or perhaps I misunderstood. I had wanted to see it for a long time, and I was not disappointed. Didi said that it was especially poignant for her, having been a thirteen-year-old girl, and experiencing many of those things. At this point, I became very interested, but then she clarified that she meant the feelings, not the actual deeds. But, anyway, it was a very good film.

The second was The Shape of Things, a movie about which I had heard nothing, but which I still wanted to see on the principle that Rachel Weisz is hot. It really made me think. And, although it ended strangely, I loved the beginning of the movie. The dialog is so real and the awkward moments so awkward that it just makes you laugh.

2 Comments »

  1. JT said,

    Hot girl is always a good reason to watch a movie not heard of before. Bonus that it was a good movie.

  2. Liza said,

    It’s a “well known” “fact” that every movie that features hot chicks/men is a good movie. They cast the actors/actresses for their talent, not their good looks.


Leave a Reply

