October 23, 2004

Last Laugh

Posted in General at 2:13 pm by Ian

Dave Barry is taking an indefinite leave of absense from the Miami Herald, and the column that he’s written for over 20 years.

This is hitting me much harder than I would have thought. But then, I practically grew up on Dave’s humor and, to the extent that I think I can write funny, it’s because I write like him. I remember being so excited when I went to a book signing of his. I drove out to UCLA to hear his band play. And I’m sure I’ll continue to check his columns weekly for a while, until I realize that he’s not coming back.

12 Comments »

  1. Liza said,

    I will boycott your blog if you won’t continue to write funny.

  2. Ethan said,

    Sad! Yes, his column will be missed by many. At least he wrote books too.

  3. Ian said,

    I will boycott your blog if you won’t continue to write funny.

    While I have no plans otherwise, should you elect to go, don’t let the door hit you on the ass on your way out.

    And I really mean that.

  4. Liza said,

    Was not trying to offend but rather to compliment you on your writing.

  5. AB said,

    This is a sad day. I was kicked out of my sixth grade class repeatedly for reading his columns. Ah, the memories.

    Also, drama alert in the evilblog comments area :yawn:

  6. Ian said,

    Bah! Facetiousness does not come through well in short writing.

    I took no offense.

  7. Ian said,

    I was kicked out of my sixth grade class repeatedly for reading his columns.
    You’re such a rebel.

  8. Liza said,

    Glad to hear. Yeah, your humor does come through better than the facetious comments. 😉

  9. Mama said,

    i love him too. Where is he going? What is happening ot him. Boo Hoo.

  10. Dan said,

    That sucks.

    Maybe he’s following in the footsteps of he-who-formerly-wrote-The-Norm. Maybe he’s going to taunt fans of further work IF they become “members” of his website for rather large sums of money…? I certainly hope not

  11. Dan said,

    Also: Dave’s blog is still being updated: http://weblog.herald.com/column/davebarry/

  12. becca said,

    Dude, he’s not leaving til January, so nothing ending suddenly. Unless you mean that his blog will continue to be updated even as he is on leave?
    *Sigh* I really wish he wasn’t leaving at all, though.


Leave a Reply

