October 25, 2004

Cyclus Eternus

Posted in General at 9:05 pm by Ian

The summer between Sophomore and Junior years, I bought a new bike. It was to replace the bike that I’d had since sixth grade, which had served me well for years but, having been left outside to be ravaged by the vagaries of Southern Californian weather for two years, it had been transformed from a precision work of engineering to a hulk of rust. The gear shift had long ago stopped working. One of the brakes had fallen off. I gave it to my suitemates to use as they would, and for a time it was used by many.

At some point, after a particularly hard ride, it was pronounced dead and broken down for parts. A while later, after a party, I remember finding it halfway across campus and dragging (it no longer had the use of its front wheel) it home. Time passed, and I lost track of it.

And I moved on with my life.

A few months ago when I went back to Mudd to visit, I happened to glance around as I left Linde Dorme, and what I saw warmed my heart. My bike, stripped now of both wheels, handlebars, and seat, was leaning up against the railing, as at home as it ever was.

2 Comments »

  1. Katie said,

    You know, they always say that we leave a little piece of ourselves wherever we spent part of our life. Although, if we all left pieces as big as you did, there’d be nothing left of us. 😉

  2. Mama said,

    I’m happy to know it graces the landscape of so prestigious an institution.


Leave a Reply

