January 23, 2005

Wait For It

Posted in General at 9:51 pm by Ian

We were playing Trivial Pursuit over at Jason’s house. My team had fallen behind after our third, Dave K, had left to go home. My remaining teammate Duane and myself were running into significant trouble because we had yet to get the Sports pie piece, and neither of us knew anything about sports. After receiving yet another impossible sports question, Duane had an epiphany.

Dave K may have left the house, but he was still on our team!

Grabbing the card, he made a quick phone call.

“Hi Dave, Listen: ‘What Dodgers southpaw’s groundbreaking surgery allowed him to recover from a potentially career-ending torn ulnar ligament?’…”

He paused a moment, and we waited to hear the verdict.

“…Ok, when you get this message, call me back as soon as possible.”

::sigh::

7 Comments »

  1. AB said,

    Tommy John. I can’t help myself.

  2. Dad said,

    If only I had been on your team, you would now know that Tommy John, and the surgery which now bears his name, is the correct answer.

  3. Ian said,

    Oh. And in a photo finish, AB wins it. Of course, we now know the answer because we looked at the back of the card.

  4. JT said,

    Doh! Someone(s) beat me to it! I had that in about half a second!

  5. Mama said,

    If I am not paired with a sports trivia buff I am a gonner at trivial pursuit. Although…I have pulled out obscure data about European football from who knows where. Love ya, 🙂

  6. Liza said,

    Who won?

  7. Ian said,

    Is that really important?


Leave a Reply

