March 29, 2005

The Multinational Conglomerate Who Cares, part II

Posted in General at 10:05 am by Ian

“Hi, I’d like to cancel this credit protection thingy.”
“Can I ask why you’ve decided not to keep the service?”
“Actually, I never had any intention of keeping it. I just wanted the $10.”
“Well, you know that this plan protects your interests if you should ever have a life emergency and need to–”
“No thank you. Just cancel it.”
“Would you be interested if we lowered the rate to $.49 per $100?”
“No, but if you give me another $10, I’ll sign up for another free month.”
“It’s been cancelled. You’ll receive a letter in 6-8 days. Thank you for calling Citibank.”

1 Comment »

  1. Matt said,

    I just got another check today! This time I get paid $15 to sign up for and cancel some sort of identity theft protection that they’d want me to pay $8/month for.

    Cha-ching!


Leave a Reply

