May 17, 2005

I Swing Both Ways

Posted in Dance, General at 9:09 pm by Ian

I just got back from my first dance class as a follow. It was awesome.

I got three strange looks, and one guy who wouldn’t dance with me, but everyone else was cool. I was even complemented on my following a few times.

It was an intermediate class, and lots of people take it several times, so there was a large range of skill in the dancers there. Jonathan was moving through some of the steps pretty fast (we’ll revisit them later), and at one point reeled off a combination of all the new steps we had covered that night for us to dance. I got a big grin on my face and turned to my partner and said: “Wow. I don’t have to remember any of that.”

3 Comments »

  1. Katie said,

    Nice being a follow isn’t it? It’s so hard having to think when I’m leading! Where are you taking lessons? We’ll have to dance sometime, you can help me learn to lead better!

  2. Ian said,

    I’m taking group lessons at the Carillo Rec Center. Taught by Jonathan and Sylvia

  3. Lisa said,

    I still don’t know the names of half the moves I know. Hurrah for following!


Leave a Reply

