June 24, 2005

Bracelets Make You Cool

Posted in General at 9:46 am by Ian

This is how I’ll make my first million.

Those silicone bracelets, prompted by the fanatical following of Lance Armstrong, that have since sprung up in every shape and form are a goldmine of a market. Every cause from Breast Cancer to Troop Support has spawned a similar bracelet, and I see trendy sheep every day sporting three or four of them. Since the price has been raised from the original humble $1 to $3 or even $4 for most of those bracelets, we’re talking about $10 per expendable income flush teenager arm.

This is exactly the kind of business I need to get into.

So I set out to find somewhere online that would make me some braclets. My first design was to have a bracelet that looks like a slice out of a $5 bill that says:

I SPENT $5 ON THIS BRACELET SO I COULD BE COOL

Alas, it seems that none of the places I have found will do custom images. And most of them wouldn’t put as many letters as I wanted on the bracelets either. So my revised design is going to say “TRENDY SHEEP” on a white bracelet. I am opening up this business venture to you lucky few on the internet who would like to back me. The first step, of course, is to set up a website at http://www.braceletsmakeyoucool.com. $6.95 in venture capital, anyone?

7 Comments »

  1. Victor said,

    Why don’t you just sell it on thinkgeek? They’re already targeting your potential consumers so that’s half of your advertising done for you already!

  2. AB said,

    I like this idea. In support, here are some other phrases you might be able to market:

    I SUPPORT CAUSES
    READ MY BRACELET
    DESPERATE FOR ATTENTION

  3. Daniel said,

    I see what you mean about the bracelets. I wanted to get one of the Lance Armstrong ones because it supports a good cause. But then I saw everyone and their dog has one.

    I ended up buying one that the West Memphis Three support group started selling. Not to be one of the cool kids but because you simply cannot get away with wearing the same t-shirt everyday. So, the bracelet is a way to talk about the WM3 with anybody nosey enough to ask. And it works. I do feel like a sheep though, but for me, it’s a small price to pay to get the word out.

  4. Ian said,

    I SUPPORT CAUSES

    Oooh. I want one.

  5. Becca said,

    You know those magnets of ribbons that say “support our troops” that everyone has on their cars now? I just saw a car with one that says “support magnetic ribbons.” it made my day.

  6. Ian said,

    You can get them here.

  7. Daniel said,

    Check these out… http://www.thinkgeek.com/apparel/jewelry/73fe/


Leave a Reply

