July 12, 2005

Try a Little Harder

Posted in General at 9:09 pm by Ian

You’d think that people who go to the effort of taking pictures of their cars and posting them on websites for sale would be somewhat interested in selling their actual cars.

But you would be wrong.

A few days ago, I found this gem on craigslist. Manual, 4WD, fewer than 100K miles, and a reasonable price (in my price range, no less). It’s basically the exact car I want. It’s a bit far away, but I’ll be down in Costa Mesa on Saturday for a magic tournament, which is only about 10 minutes away.

So I called the guy up today. Name’s Win. Told him I’d be in the area on Saturday morning, and if everything is good, I could buy it then. He said he worked Saturday from 9 to 9, but I could meet him at his work. And then the conversation took a turn for the bizarre.

Ian: So, would you be able to take it in for an independent mechanical inspection in the next few days?
Win: If you want to come see it on Saturday, you could take it then.
Ian: Right, but I’m not going to have much time Saturday, and there’s no point in me coming to see it if it doesn’t pass a mechanical inspection anyway.
Win: Well, I can’t take it in unless you’re here.
Ian: [perplexed] Why?
Win: I can’t do your work for you. If you want to come look at it, then you can take it to a mechanic.
Ian: But it’s two hours drive for me to come look at it. And all I’d have time to do on Saturday is a quick test drive and sign the papers.
Win: But it’s my time. I’m not going to spend my time on it if I don’t even know you’ll buy it.
Ian: [frustrated] But I will buy it. If it passes the inspection, I’ll buy it. Why would I have to be there for the inspection?
Win: When would you be able to pick it up?
Ian: [deadpan] Saturday. I’m going to be there Saturday.
Win: Well, I couldn’t just sell it to you then. I need to have it to get home from work.
Ian: [thinking] You’re selling your car, moron. At some point, you should probably come up with a transportation scheme that doesn’t rely on it. [saying] So, when would you be ready to sell it? I mean, if you need it to get to and from work, then you can’t sell it yet.
Win: Well, I’ll have to make arrangements to get a ride with someone.
Ian: Can’t you make those arrangements for Saturday?
Win: But I don’t know if you’re going to buy it yet.
Ian: [pleading] But. I’ll. Buy. It. If. It. Passes. An. Inspection. [conceding] You know what? Why don’t we talk later.

It would be wrong of me to suggest that others follow the link above and enter into negociations to buy the car, only to request some absurd concession or balk at a minor and obvious detail (“Oh, the windshield wipers go that way?”) and back out on the whole deal, so I won’t.

7 Comments »

  1. Tania said,

    sweet jesus, just reading your post, i wanna smack the guy… *ugh*!

  2. Ian said,

    Luckily, in later talks, he was much more reasonable, and it looks like I’ll likely be buying his car. Pictures when she’s mine.

  3. Liza said,

    Oooh…is there going to be another naming contest?

  4. Nikhil said,

    I vote for ‘Greg’

    I’ve never met a car named ‘Greg’

  5. Ian said,

    Name suggestions will be graciously accepted.

    She will not be named “Greg”. Proper modes of transportation have girls names.

  6. Katie said,

    How about Serenity? Or maybe that should be the boat’s name. 😉

  7. Ian said,

    Too derivative. As cool as Firefly is, browncoat naming… isn’t.


Leave a Reply

