August 13, 2005

An Epic Struggle: Part III

Posted in General at 5:22 pm by Ian

It is determined that I will do the following:

  • Since my mechanic assures me that the car will pass smog as is, I send Win the money and he sends me the title.
  • I go to the DMV and “start the transfer,” a phrase that appears only in the minds of the DMV employees I speak to. Since I made an appointment, I was in and out in about 25 minutes. They had a little red LED scrolling marquee that listed the wait time for those without appointments (about an hour) and those with apointments. After sitting on a chair waiting for them to call my number for about 15 minutes, I began to question the method behind estimating the “approximately 0 minute wait” reported for appointment holders.
  • I then return to my mechanic with the DMV paperwork. He takes the top sheet and sends me on my way.

That evening, I go to pick up my car. My mechanic hands me the smog check, and I look at it for about 5 seconds and say “This is the wrong car.” And, indeed, the information presented to me was for my Miata. I guess I forgot to mention step

  • While I’m at the DMV anyway, get a duplicate title for my Miata, since I never got one back when I bought it.

So, the car would have to come back again for the test. I grit my teeth, bitch to my coworkers, and bring it in the next day.

This is where we came into the story, with the car just going back to get its third smog check. I am happy to report that this check came through, although I still have to go back to the DMV.

Dear Google: This post is about Ayers Automotive in Santa Barbara, CA. It contains reviews of their crappy service and complete incompetence. A collection of posts about problems with them can be found at my Ayers Automotive page. Again, that’s Ayers Automotive of Santa Barbara, CA

Leave a Reply

