October 25, 2005

I Know Where The Caged Bird Flies (Has a Layover, Anyway)

Posted in General at 3:44 pm by Ian

There are two small birds—sparrows, I think—flying around in the B Terminal of the Boise Airport. I have a book, an internet connection, and several movies on my laptop, but I’ve been watching the birds for about 15 minutes while I wait on hold with all my financial institutions to change my address.

On my whirlwind tour through the Pacific NorthNotQuiteSoWest, I have learned the following things, which I did not before know.

  • There is beer in Salt Lake City (the airport, anyway), but it’s pretty wussy beer.
  • Oh, good lord. We interrupt this list to bring you the fact that that lights just partly went off and there’s a… buzzing, sort of sizzling sound from above. I can’t see, but I hope that neither of the birds found a new path to ground.
  • “No, You ‘da ho!” never gets old. Never.
  • Flight attendants are specially trained to always try to give you drinks at the exact moment that whatever movie you are watching is at its most socially objectionable scene.
  • Exits from Idaho freeways are labeled with mile markers only, not street names. Our directions, on the other hand, were t’other way ’round. Hilarity ensued.
5 Comments »

  1. Victor said,

    SLC? Why are you in Salt Lake?

  2. Ian said,

    Because there aren’t any direct flights from Santa Barbara to Boise, of course 😀

  3. Katie said,

    The other thing that never gets old is telling people you’re going to Moscow
    *very long pause* Idaho. Because it just sounds so much cooler when they think you’re going on a trip to Russia.

  4. Jon said,

    Don’t you dare! Mos-CO….Mos-COW…Mos-CO…Mos-COW. You’d better get it right (I was basically born there).

  5. Katie said,

    Yeah, but it’s the spelling not the pronounciation that counts. 😉 It’s not my fault that there’s a w on the end. And yes, I do know how to pronounce it correctly. But it’s more impressive when you choose not to.


Leave a Reply

