January 27, 2006

An Epic Struggle IV: Revenge of the Epic Struggle

Posted in General at 2:25 pm by Ian

A while ago I wrote about the arduous experiences involved in purchasing my Rav4. Links to parts I, II, III, and the Epilogue.

I recently decided to sell my Miata. I put it up on craigslist, and quickly received email from several distant, spelling-deficient individuals who wished to exchange fradulent mail orders for my hard-earned cash. Isn’t the internet grand. I also got an email from a guy who seemed to be local and, you know, real. He came to look at the car today and did a test drive. After that, he said that he liked the car, and would be willing to offer me $lowball. I hemmed and hawed, and he mentioned some things, and then offered $unreasonable. He mentioned bluebook, and we talked about what bluebook really was, and then he dropped the bomb.

He pulled out a CARFAX report, and pointed to a line near the bottom.

“There’s a milage discrepancy,” he said.

As soon as I saw the number, I knew.

The SMOG that Ayers screwed up and submitted under the VIN and license of my Miata has come back to haunt me once again. Since the Rav4 has lower milage than the Miata, it is flagged as a discrepancy by Carfax. When I called Ayers to complain, the owner argued with me about how to make my case, and that his records don’t show anything like that, and they don’t supply their records to Carfax, so how could Carfax even get such a report (yeah, I’m sure it’s that other incompetent mechanic I took the car to who submitted a SMOG check under the wrong VIN and license) and that if the buyer is just trying to haggle down the price, then he’s not a good buyer anyway, and that the buyer can call him, and he’ll vouch for it (this, after I had to argue with him to agree that he even made a mistake in the first place) (::rolleyes::). I pointed out that I already knew that, and that’s not the point. The point is that they made a mistake, it’s costing me money and time, and they need to try to solve it. He reluctantly agreed to do so, and I hung up.

It looks like Carfax does have an error correction process, so I’ll be taking that route as well.

Dear Google: This post is about Ayers Automotive in Santa Barbara, CA. It contains reviews of their crappy service and complete incompetence. A collection of posts about problems with them can be found at my Ayers Automotive page. Again, that’s Ayers Automotive of Santa Barbara, CA

5 Comments »

  1. Dad said,

    You’re only on page 2 of Google listings for Ayers Automotive Santa Barbara.

    But the good news is that if someone thinks to google (v.t.) Ayers Automotive crappy, you’re number one.

  2. Ian said,

    Hey, it’s only been a couple of days. Wait a while and see where it gets to.

  3. HCK said,

    Several people in my office has tried Ayers once because its so close to where we work. Everyone has been “ok” with the staff, “reluctant” with the prices, and “ok” with the work done. But the OWNER…good lord…He’s the arrogant jerk with the goofy haircut who treats females of all ages like misbehaving children. He has given us all lectures about how only HE can work on our cars because everyone else in town is incompetent, and how we don’t know what’s best for our cars, that we aren’t responsible car owners, and other bizarre rantings. I prefer driving my car across town for service than dealing with him.

  4. Skip Smith said,

    Yup, the owner at Ayers is a retard. He tried to frighten me into buying services and parts I didn’t need by “officially” declaring my car a safety hazard. They also offered to change my oil … for $100. I of course laughed in his face and took my car elsewhere.

  5. Skip Smith said,

    By the way, this blog is the first Google listing for the search “smog test Santa Barbara Ayers”


Leave a Reply

