September 26, 2006

I Am Become Cyclist

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:56 pm by Ian

I can hardly believe this has happened, but I’m becoming one of them.

The Bicycle Geeks.

You see them out there in the early morning, those electrolytically-charged exotic materially-equipped spandex-hugged welterweights of aerobic exercise. They stick those little dentists mirrors on their helmets. They wear clothing (if you can call it that) emblazoned with vibrant advertisements. They have special shoes because god forbid you simply rest your feet on the pedals. You must become the bike.

And I’m now one of them.

For shame.

At least I haven’t started watching the Tour de France.

5 Comments »

  1. Daniel said,

    So, what happened that made you become one of “them”?

  2. Ian said,

    I’ve just been riding more often, and upgrading my equipment to make the experience better. The silly clothes and clip in shoes and expensive bikes really do make it better.

  3. Chris said,

    You should get some aero bars. They seem to add about 1mph or so to my top speed.

    Oh yeah, and spoilers and ground effects.

  4. Daniel said,

    Don’t forget the sub woofer either.

  5. Ian said,

    I was thinking that what my bike really needs is some gull-wing doors.


Leave a Reply

