July 17, 2007

He Who Shall Not Be Outsold

Posted in Uncategorized at 1:58 pm by Ian

“I almost want to go to the midnight thing, buy the book, skim through it for where a major character dies, and make up Tshirts like they did for the last one.”
“They did that?”
“Yeah, someone made shirts that say ‘Snape kills Dumbledore on page whatever. There, I just saved you $25 and six hours.'”
“I don’t know if I’d wear that around. You might get beat up.”
“By Harry Potter fans?”
“Good point.”
“They could throw their books at you…”
“They are pretty hefty.”
“This one is supposed to be the longest yet.”
“They’re all the longest yet. Each book is as long as the two that came before it combined.”
“Harry Potter and the Fibonacci Sequence.”

2 Comments »

  1. Gina said,

    Dumbledore dies! And somebody spoiled the surprise! Who would do such a thing! It takes a heartless scoundrel to cheat a person out of an ignorance destined for such blissful, or mournful in this case, awakenings. Not that I’m calling anyone here a heartless scoundrel…

    I don’t know if I’d complain about the books being twice as long as their predecessors. That is distinctly more fan-friendly than certain franchises whose sequels turn up half as long and half finished so that you have to buy the sequels’ sequel to finish the story.

    In summation, I say, leave Harry Potter alone, you bullies!

  2. Chris said,

    Once I saw that the book was leaked, I resigned myself to not doing anything else but checking email until I buy and finish the book, lest I run across another spoiler like the last one.


Leave a Reply

