July 19, 2007

Interpret This Comic

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:04 pm by Ian

I have gotten the opinions of 8 people (including me) about this comic, and so far, we’re evenly divided on our interpretations. As much as it pains me to admit it: four of my friends are wrong.

Is he finding the Fibonacci Sequence in her touch…

A: because he searches for meanings and patterns in a detached way. The last line means that he’s lucky to have her in spite of his disconnectedness.
B: because she is purpsosefully tapping it out to reach out to him. The last line means that he’s lucky to have her because she reaches out to him in this way.
C: Some other interpretation (please explain).

The order of the first two options was chosen randomly, and I’m not posting my answer just yet to avoid contaminating your weak little minds (but, it should be easy to figure out. Just choose the right interpretation).

12 Comments »

  1. Tanya said,

    Most certainly, the correct interpretation is B. She has found the way to break through the barrier of his disconnectedness by infiltrating the very part of his mind that erects the barrier. Ain’t love grand!

  2. evan said,

    B.

    the whole comic series is full of clips about how his sig-o is the most wonderful perfect thing alive.

  3. Matt said,

    I think he’s clearly detached, and he thinks it’s awesome that she spotted the Fibonacci sequence in his ramblings.

  4. Ian said,

    I’m not sure I understand your comment, Matt. I thought all the text was him. Or do you mean that she spotted it when he was talking about it sometime?

    Evan makes a good argument for B.

  5. kyle said,

    It’s totally B.
    (Tania says the same)

    I don’t think I have any further explanation to offer, as Ian’s initial description coupled with Tanya’s response pretty much hits it dead on.

  6. Matt said,

    My take wasn’t that she wasn’t touching him in a deliberate manner, and that she wasn’t even necessarily touching him in a Fibonacci sequence by accident. However, this guy is obsessed with patterns, and he finds them everywhere. He’s telling her about this, and he chose to use a Fibonacci sequence of touches as an example in his ramblings. She recognized it, and he thinks that’s awesome, since they’re at least somewhat on the same wavelength.

  7. Gina said,

    You know what’s great about this particular comic… that you CAN interpret it both ways, simultaneously and/or by turns. Fun for the whole mind.

  8. Liza said,

    It’s totally B but before I was given the options, I thought A.

  9. Ian said,

    My answer is ‘B’, by the way, which seems to be gaining momentum.

  10. Matt said,

    So, it appears I misread the comic. I thought the exclamation about finding the Fibonacci sequence was the chick talking, not the guy. With that, the answer is clearly B.

  11. logtar said,

    It has to be B

  12. Jess said,

    What does Randall Munroe (the author of xkcd) say?


Leave a Reply

